The Midde Game of Go: Chubansen

by Sakata Eio

The Middle Game of Go

The Middle Game of Go
by Sakata Eio


Publisher: Ishi Press
ISBN: 0923891773
Product Dimensions: 5.75 x 8.25 inches
154 pages

The Middle Game of Go

"The Middle Game of Go", long out of print, has just been reprinted.

This is the third of a three part series on go by Sakata Eio. The other two have also been recently reprinted.

Sakata Eio is regarded as one of the strongest go players of the 20th century. He was born on February 15, 1920 in Tokyo, Japan. After winning most of the major titles in the 1950s, in 1961 he finally took the Honinbo title from Takagawa Kaku who had held it for a record nine consecutive terms. In 1963, Sakata captured the Meijin title, making him the first player simultaneously to hold the two titles Meijin- Honinbo. Sakata's peak came in 1964, when he won 30 games and lost only two and held seven major titles: Meijin, Honinbo, Nihon Ki-in Championship, Asahi Pro Best Ten, Oza, Nihon Kiin Number One, and NHK Cup. Sakata is now 86 and lives in Tokyo. He is retired but still active. This book, "The Middle Game of Go" or "Chubansen", first published in 1971, was Sakata's third book published in English, the first being "Modern Joseki and Fuseki, Vol. 1" and the second being "Modern Joseki and Fuseki, Vol. 2, The Opening Theory of Go". These volumes are now regarded as a classics in Go literature. They are also the first books published by The Ishi Press. This book, along with the two other volumes in his series by Sakata Eio, made The Ishi Press the world's leading English language publisher on the game of go.

More Books from Ishi Press:
DVDs from Ishi Press International:

Books and DVDs by Sam Sloan: Click on a link below to view product page: Books for Sale

Contact address - please send e-mail to the following address: